top of page

why I choose to write stories about dichloroacetate



And not just dichloroacetate but plant diseases and lobster traps too.


They all sound boring, right? It doesn’t affect me so who cares, and why does it matter? 


Those are really difficult questions to answer, but I like doing it. I enjoy the challenge and finding light in seemingly mundane titles. 


But I’m also a firm believer that there’s a story in everything, some are just a lot harder to make interesting than others. 


Once I wrote a story about a researcher in phase III of a trial for pyruvate dehydrogenase complex deficiency (PDCD). Would you want to read that story? Probably not unless you were a researcher yourself.


What if I told you the lede was this: "When Brittany Harvey hugged her 6-pound, 10-ounce newborn in 2005, she couldn’t imagine her daughter being anything less than healthy." Would you want to read it now? 


Read this lede: "Charles Hinchcliff, of Mayo, Florida, has to visit the hospital 10 times a week."


Would you believe me if I told you the title of the story was "Students raise more than $1,000 with flashy bras"? I promise there’s a connection, and you can read the whole story here to fine out what it is.


So how do you do it? 


Writing is personal because you're often telling a story whether it's yours or not; You have to talk to everyonebecause everyone has a different story to tell. 


The angles are what make a story stand out, so you have to go out and find every angel possible even though you probably won't use them all.


So go out, find that boring title and turn it into something.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page